Historical Background

On August 8, 1975, Presidential Decree No.705was issued establishing the PC/INP as the country’s police force. The local police units were integrated into a national police force with the Philippine Constabulary (PC) as its nucleus.

In 1986 after the EDSA People’s Power Revolution, a new Constitution was promulgated providing for a police force, which is “national in scope and civilian in character”. Consequently, Republic Act No.6975 entitled: “An Act Establishing the PNP under a Reorganized Department of the Interior and Local Government,” was signed into law on December 13, 1990, which became effective on January 1, 1991.

Subsequently, the Philippine National Police was activated on January 29, 1991 with initial composition from the members of the former PC/INP who opted to join the PNP, and, members from the different major services of the Armed Forces of the Philippines such as Philippine Air Force Security Command, the Philippine Coast Guard, and the Philippine Army were also absorbed.

This law established the PNP under the reorganized DILG, Section 2, Chapter III thereof provides for its organization, Sec 30, Rule VI of the IRR of the Act, provides that “The Chief of the PNP shall, within 60 days from the effectivity of the Act and in accordance with the broad guidelines set forth therein, recommend the organizational structure and staffing pattern of the PNP to the National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM).

Section 19 of RA 6975 provides for the key positions in the PNP including the members of the Directorial Staff. Based on the aforementioned law, NAPOLCOM issued Resolution 92-36 and approved the same on October 15, 1992, which revised the organizational structure of the PNP and likewise provided policies and guidelines in its implementation. The ten (10) Directorates were created in the National Headquarters which included the Directorate for Operations (DO).